House Of Dows

A family welcome

Posted by Dows on August 20, 2009

Last night I decided to make the trek from Leeds to go to the Steelers shirt launch at Abbeydale. Never making the trip before I expected it to be quite a small, almost working mans club based affair with about 100 people.

I love being hilariously wrong.

About 400+ Steelers fans made the journey to see the new kit unveiled and their was a fantastic buzz and atmosphere about the place.

A word about the venue, the were as usual some negativity about location, time, position of Venus in relation to Capricorn etc. but I have to say how impressed I was by the hospitality shown by Abbeydale. Yes queues were long but they well staffed and kept people moving. The beer was well priced and the food was good value. Next year they should probably sell the shirts outside but these are learning’s that you get from a first year at a new venue. Bouncy castle for the kids, plenty of space to run around and plenty of parking equaled a stress free night for most. The night picked weather wise was perfect and seemed well timed so the players could relax a bit and enjoy a drink before the training got crazy serious.

It’s amazing how much you miss a Brummie accent, for all his critics Simmsy made light of the recent naming issues at the club and got people focused on what mattered, how much we all love the club.

Credit has to go to the Steelers for keeping so many sponsors after such an awful financial year, there certainly must be some reason our sponsors keep coming.

Fat Man Models New Away Kit

Fat Man Models New Away Kit

Ok the kit. First the negative – not stitched. I know its cheaper and its better in the economic conditions, I just love the feel of a quality stitched hockey shirt. That aside both versions of the new design have grown on me and the proof was defiantly in the purchase as I bagged myself the new away shirt. However it also makes it more affordable for families and it was pleasing to see so many kids buying a new shirt for the season.

It was great to see the players again, although worrying that Bolibrock isn’t in this country yet.
My mate Jonathan mentioned to me something that struck him as the players were introduced. Kevin Reiter literally did not stop smiling for the entire time he was up on the balcony. I had the good fortune of having a chat with man and first impressions are that he is an absolute top quality bloke. He took time to chat with me and he shared his excitement at having a competent line in front of him. He seems so eager to get started and even decided to pull faces behind my back whilst snapping a picture young Joey Talbot. We should stop making comparisons now about him and Lehman and get on with the business of backing him.

I say this so many times but I just think we have such a great bunch of players in terms of talking to the fans, i had the pleasure of speaking to most of the lads last night (all of whom signed my shirt) and they just have so much patience with fans.

I was keen to get a word with Jeff Hutchins, after the criticism (unwarranted in my opinion and in some cases just disgraceful) of him on the forums I was surprised to meet a man with a clear head, focused on a new season and someone with a cracking sense of humour. He commented about how different the lockers of Sheffield and Newcastle were so different, how he felt that their was one clique in the Steelers and that was the entire team. I’m looking forward to seeing him play, in his own words ‘I put the puck in the back of the net, that’s just what i do.’

All the new boys impressed me, young Morgan seemed eager to learn (although he confessed that the training was very different to preparations at the Scimitars). Dowdy is looking good and I just feel he’s going to be incredible this year.

So well done to the Steelers and Abbeydale for a cracking night. I echo the sentiments of most the players who just couldn’t wait for the season to start.

Signed Shirt

Signed Shirt

Me neither.

P.S 20/20 Hockey… Best. Idea. Ever. (in theory)

Dows

Leave a Reply

«
 
